HIGS . . .

The newest accelerator facility operated by TUNL is the HIGS at the Duke Free Electron Laser Laboratory (DFELL). The DFELL houses an accelerator based photon source in a 52,000 square-foot facility. There are two types of primary photon beams available at the DFELL: the HIGS with energies from 2 to 60 MeV and an optical beam with continuous tunable wavelength from IR to VUV. Both photon beam types are produced by an electron storage ring free electron laser (FEL) and its undulators.

HINDA
HIGS NaI Array, a collection of eight large NaI with active NaI shields. Designed for the Compton@HIGS Program.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu
Haiyan Gao, gao@tunl.duke.edu

OTPC
Optical Time Projection Chamber. An optical and wave-form-digitizion detector designed for charged particle detection.
Principal Investigator(s):
Moshe Gai, moshe.gai@yale.edu
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

One 120 % HPGe
A high purity Ge detector used to measure the primary gamma-ray energy.
Principal Investigator(s):
Anton Tonchev, tonchev@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

Four 60 % HPGe
A set of four HPGE detectors mostly used for gamma-ray detection in nuclear structure studies.
Principal Investigator(s):
Anton Tonchev, tonchev@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

Blowfish Array
An array of 88-cell, BC-505 liquid scintillating detectors, ~25 % of 4-pi solid angle coverage. Used for neutron detection.
Principal Investigator(s):
Blaine Norum, ben@virginia.edu
Rob Pywell, rob.pywell@usask.ca

Charged Particle Detector
An array of Si solid state detectors for charged particle detection.
Principal Investigator(s):
John Kelley, kelley@tunl.duke.edu

Li-Glass Array
An array of four Li-loaded glass detectors for low-energy neutron detection. Each detector is 2 inches in diameter and 9 mm thick.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

3He Neutron Counter
A 4-pi, 3He filled proportional-counter detector with moderator. Designed for neutron detection.
Principal Investigator(s):
Calvin Howell, howell@tunl.duke.edu
Tom Clegg, clegg@tunl.duke.edu

Large NaI
A Large (10 inch X 12 inch) NaI detector for gamma-ray beam energy and flux measurements.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

Neutron Array
An array of eight liquid scintillating cells ( 5 inch diameter, 2 inch long) for neutron detection.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

NMS
Neutral Meson Spectrometer for neutral pion detection. Two arms of 60 CsI crystals each. Each arm is 60 cm X 100 cm at the front face.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

Xtal Box
Crystal Box detector for neutral pion detection, Three arms of 90 NaI crystals each. Each arm is 22.5 inches X 25 inches at the front face.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

HIFROST
HIGS Frozen Spin Polarized Target.
Principal Investigator(s):
Mohammad Ahmed, ahmed@tunl.duke.edu
Henry Weller, weller@tunl.duke.edu

3He Polarized Target
A high pressure, optically pumped, polarized 3He target.
Principal Investigator(s):
Haiyan Gao, gao@tunl.duke.edu